I see you

Published September 4, 2012 by joypatton

I see you standing in the doorway.  I know you are thinking about coming in, but for many reasons, you have not.  You see a room full of women sitting at tables and laughing and having fun, but you doubt whether you could ever be one of them.  Once they found out who you really are and what you have really done, they would reject you, just like before.  There was that one time when you thought you had a friend and she turned on you, betrayed you and broke your heart. Now the thought of walking in and sitting at one of those tables brings back painful memories.  You stand frozen in the doorway.

I see you standing there.  I know you want to come in and be a part of the group again.  I know that you are sad because the worries of life outside this room are pressing in.  You would come in and sit, but you just don’t have the time.  You’ve had to take on more work, and you just can’t afford to be one of those women who spends two hours every week in Bible study.  You used to be that woman, but now you aren’t.  Now you wonder if anyone even remembers that you exist.

I see you holding your newborn baby.  You’re excited and scared all at the same time.  You wonder how this little life will change your world.  You wonder what you will have to give up so that you can be a mother.  Will your spiritual growth have to sit on the shelf?  You look at the women in the room longing to hear their wisdom, but not sure you could even get yourself and the kids out the door on time.  The thought of being late every week and disorganized and not having homework done keeps your feet planted firmly outside.

I see you standing in a new place full of strangers.  You look into the room, and your heart aches because no one knows you.  No one has seen you, at least not like the friends you left behind.  You liked the person you used to be, but these last few months she has been hard to find.  No one here knows she even exists.  You begin to doubt she ever did exist.  You have tried to get back, but every path is blocked, every effort lost.

Joy Patton, I see you.  I have let you see these women standing in the door.  I know you have been trying to get them to come in.  I see how you have been friendly and welcoming.  Yet you have stood on the stage beckoning them to come in.  You have wanted to be seen.  Now I’m asking you to step off the stage and go meet them in the back of the room.  They can’t come in right now, but you can go to them.  Go meet them where they are.

I am the God who sees, El Roi.  I am the God who cares for you.  I see your anxious hearts.  I see the burdens you bring.  I have come to bring good news, to bind broken hearts, to proclaim freedom, and to comfort those who mourn.  I have come so that they might have life, abundant, overflowing life.  Will you take me to the back of the room?

If you have been standing at the back of the room and you want a seat at the table, we are doing an Online Bible Study of the book of Galatians.  Find out more by clicking here.  I hope to “see” you there!

So what's your story?

